Skip to content


Twenty-three years ago Multnomah County held a one day educational conference about diversity and inclusion in the workplace. Its purpose was to address the needs of public employees and the communities they serve.  Several years later the City of Portland joined Multnomah County for this annual event. More public employers have continued to join us in sponsoring and planning this annual diversity conference. In 2009, in acknowledgement and celebration of the conference’s regional growth, the planning committee renamed the conference from City/County Diversity Conference to the Northwest Public Employees Diversity Conference.

The conference’s collaboration presents a unique opportunity to cross diverse boundaries for a common purpose of promoting our diversity values of inclusiveness, respectful work environments, equal opportunity for all, and culturally responsive service.

2017 Planning Committee Members


Percy Winters Jr., Multnomah County

Tami Cockeram, City of Hillsboro

Planning Committee

Multnomah County – Wayne Scott, Kevin Kitamura, Nina Jones, Daniel Garcia, Lee Fleming

Clackamas County – Emmett Wheatfall

City of Portland – Diane Avery

Metro – Eric Nelson, Nyla Moore

Portland Public Schools – Phu Dao

Prosper Portland – Wendy Wilcox, John Cardenas

Department of Environmental Quality – Susan Korn

Washington County – Mary Rojas, Dale Yee

Home Forward – Rebecca Koon

TriMet – Monika Johnson

Oregon Health Authority – Beth Sanders, Brad Fortier

City of Gresham – Sylvia Cossar

City of Tigard – Brandi Leos

City of Lake Oswego – Megan Phelan

Tualatin Hills Park & Recreation District – Kylie Bayer-Fertterer

Clark County – Leslie Ernesti, Sharon Lumbantobing

Beaverton School District – Sho Shigeoka

Bonneville Power Administration – Maria Mondragon-Almy

City of Tualatin – Debra Bullard

Oregon Department of Corrections – Katie Stewart, Gary Sims

City of Beaverton – Matthew Halderman

Conference Coordinator – Carolyn Lee